The “Real Food” Brownie: A chocolate dessert that is good for you.

Sometimes it is just one of those weeks. I solved the blues with a “Real Food Brownie” from The Healthiest Meals on Earth cookbook by Jonny Bowden .

I am allergic to nuts so unfortunately many chocolaty desserts are off limits to me. With the advent of multi-product processing plants- so is ice cream, chocolate bars, most baked breads etc. Which is why, I decided to simply… learn to make my own.

Being The Healthy Project, I thought what could perfectly boost my mood was a sweet dessert, that is good for you.

Here are brownies, made from garbanzo beans, dates, cocoa powder and a bit of maple syrup. They are described as “rich and satisfying and loaded with fiber”. Bowden says these brownies have a consistency like flourless chocolate cake, but I would say, they are like a rich fudge square. I promise, you cannot taste garbanzos in this at all. Just don’t serve these the same night you make, say, tacos with refried beans, or the jig is up. We sampled these as an appetizer, ate some chicken & kale spaghetti, then ate more brownies.

Real Food Brownies
A “Real-Food Brownie”- nut free adaptation

1 1/4 C dates
9T cocoa powder
1/4 C butter, melted
1/2 C Maple Syrup
2 C Garbanzo Beans
4 Eggs
1/2 t Baking Powder
1 t cinnamon

Directions:
*Puree your garbanzo beans and eggs until smooth, transfer to a mixing bowl.
*Soak your dates in 1 C of warm water for about 10 minutes. Puree dates and soaking water in your food processor until you get a smooth paste. Add cocoa powder, butter, and maple syrup and pulse until combined.
*Dump into the same mixing bowl as the bean puree. Add some cinnamon. Taste and adjust sweetness and/or cocoa-ness. Add in your baking powder, stir, and pour into a 9×9 baking dish.
*Bake at 350F for 45 min. Cool for 15 minutes.

These are worth the experiment. And- they are all pretty cheap to make! I had leftover cocoa powder, a $1 can of garbanzos, and found a bag of dates on sale for $2. Pretty cheap entertainment for a Friday!

I’d like to introduce you to The Healthy Project on Pinterest .
My pinboards include Beans that aren’t “Beans”, The Squash Project, Healthy Sodas, How I learned to love Fennel, Miso soup many ways, and … The Dessert Project!

What’s next? I have my eye on a pear sorbet.
See you next week!

2 Comments to “The “Real Food” Brownie: A chocolate dessert that is good for you.”

  1. I’m enjoying baking with dates, so I can see how these would taste delicious, and you can’t beat the ingredients for a healthy brownie. Nice!

  2. Made them yesterday. A tad moist but delicious!!! I would add chocolate butter icing on top but then that would not keep them in the healthy category….

Leave a Reply

